Stages of bereavement

Understanding the stages of bereavement can aid in the grieving process and help at a time of need.

5 stages of grief

Grief can often be explained through 5 stages, these stages are not intended to be ticked off as a list, instead they are a guide to help understand feelings of grief and loss :

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Coping with bereavement

  • The NHS website helps advise on the feelings that arise once someone passes away, as well as the help and support that is available: coping with bereavement.
  • You may be entitled to Bereavement Support Payment if your husband, wife or civil partner has passed away: bereavement support payment.
  • Guide to coping with death and grief – The bereavement process explained, click here.
Share this page